Declining position of India in Cashew production and exports.

Till late 1990s, India was the largest producer of raw cashew nuts(cashew nuts with shell) and largest exporter of processed cashew nuts in the world. Roasted Cashew nuts also used to be an important item of export from India.However India is now not so prominent in the world as an exporter.While India’s production of raw cashew went up only by about 50% from 420,000 MT in 1996 to 675,000 MT in 2011,Vietnam’s production increased by about 500% from 237000 MT to 12,72,000 MT during this period making Vietnam the largest producer in the world. Nigeria’s production went up by about 700% from 110,000 MT to 813000 MT, making Nigeria, the second largest producer behind Vietnam and ahead of India.India thus is only the third largest producer in the world.

The low increase in production in India is due to low yield. During the 15 year period from 1996 to 2011, in India the yield increased only marginally from 0.66MT per hectare, while in Nigeria it went up by about 400% from 0.63MT to 2.46 MT.The yield in Vietnam increased from 2.23MT to 3.84MT.

In India as much as 0.95 million hectare of land is under cashew while Vietnam and Nigeria each have only about 0.33 million ha under cashew.

In 2001, India was the largest exporter of roasted cashew nuts with exporters of about 90,000 MT when Vietnam’s exports were only 44000 MT. But in 2011, India’s exports were almost at the same level at 93,000 MT while Vietnam’s exports went up by 4 times to 195,000 MT.

Cashew tree starts yielding from about 3rd year and its life is about 35-40 years.
India should consider measures to increase yield by encouraging farmers to grow high yielding dwarf varieties, consider giving grants and subsidies and/or procuring raw cashew nuts at a much higher price which would offset effect of increased wages of workers as also services like transport etc.

India should also coordinate with other large producing/exporting countries like Vietnam and Nigeria to promote consumption of cashew nuts in the world particularly in developed importing countries, to evolve high-yielding varieties,exchange of information, exchange of agricultural and industrial experts etc.

8 Responses to Declining position of India in Cashew production and exports.

  1. Amedar says:

    Well I sincerely liked reading it. This article procured by you is very effective for accurate planning.

  2. 3 says:

    Thank you for every other informative site. Where else may just I get that type of info written in such an ideal manner? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  3. Corrie says:

    This is a comment to the webmaster. Your website is missing out on at least 300 visitors per day. I have found a company which offers to dramatically increase your traffic to your website: http://bag.sh/16M They offer 1,000 free visitors during their free trial period and I managed to get over 30,000 visitors per month using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

  4. vacation says:

    Hi! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

  5. Charity says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly
    donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about
    this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  6. ... says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you can do
    with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is great blog.
    A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

  7. Hi there! This poist could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of myy old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up
    tto him. Pretty sure he wikll have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  8. t says:

    Greate pieces. Keep writing such kind of info on your page.

    Im really impressed by it.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I’ll certainly
    digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I am confident
    they will be benefited from this site.

Leave a Reply

